Both white and brown sugar is filtered or processed using bone char, a porous, black, granular material produced by charring animal bones from cattle.
Vegan and healthy alternatives are coconut sugar, maple syrup, stevia, dates, and agave syrup/agave nectar.
Some wine is filtered using animal-derived products such as gelatin, isinglass (a substance made from fish bladder membranes), or egg whites. To ensure your wine is vegan, look for labels that indicate it is “unfined”, “unfiltered”, or “vegan”.
Some cheese alternatives
Though it might seem counterintuitive, many cheese alternatives, such as those made from soy or nuts, could contain casein, a protein derived from milk. To find vegan cheese alternatives, look for those explicitly stating vegan ingredients.
Candy and gum
Some contain gelatin, which is made from animal collagen. To find vegan candy and gum.
As an example, Gummy bears and marshmallows typically contain gelatin. Instead, look for vegan marshmallows made from aquafaba (the liquid from a can of chickpeas), agar-agar, or other plant-based ingredients.
Red food colouring
Artificially dyed food such as candy, sweets, juice, and cosmetic products such as red lipstick and nail polish use carmine or cochineal extract derived from crushed insect shells.
To avoid this ingredient, look for food colouring from red beet juice or other plant-based sources.